Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers


Grave Mercy
by Robin LaFevers

One liner
A girl trained to become an assassin in a convent must disguise herself as a court noble’s mistress in order to learn the secrets of the court at Brittany.

Display or shelve?
Display. Its a clean, portrait like cover with a castle in the background and a girl in a nice dress with an awesome crossbow. What’s not to like?

Notable thoughts
Overall, I really liked this book. I found I could relate to Ismae – the protagonist – a lot although I’m not really sure why, she just seemed very realistic and nice. The best parts for me were when Ismae and Duval were together, and probably the first half of the book more than the second. This is because (and this is just me, it was written well and was interesting enough) I’m a little bored of the secrets and deceptions of courts. Ismae’s assassin duty and her relationship with Duval were far more original and fun but the former at least was hardly in it – it was far more to do with the Duchess and the threat France posed. Even so, it was a good read and I’m looking forward to the sequel.

Reread or remember?
Dark Triumph will be a sequel of sorts, told in the perspective of another of the girl assassins. It’ll lead on from this story (I think) so I’ll reread. It was a quick read anyway and fun, so I’ll look forward to it.

4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

