Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor


Daughter of Smoke and Bone
by Laini Taylor

So I’ve heard absolutely amazing reviews for this. But I felt it didn’t live up to the hype. It felt as though there were three completely different stories told one after the other. It was well-written, the characters were distinct, and it’s certainly different in terms of the story (monstrous creatures, the protagonist’s job collecting teeth, living in Prague) but then there were typical parts – like instalove (kind of twice) and how its basically about angels (I hadn’t read anywhere that angels were involved, so that surprised me). The story told of another world where a war had been raging, but it never felt real or epic. I loved the wishes though.
Overall, I did enjoy reading it, but it wasn’t the groundbreaking novel others had made it out to be. I’ll read the sequel Days of Blood and Starlight but I can wait.

One thought on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. I agree with you on this one. It almost felt like it was made into a YA novel when it wasn’t really YA. I enjoyed it for the most part, and I’ll probably read the second book too. But, like you, I can wait.

Leave a Reply

