The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection
Kiera Cass

I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews for this, and although the premise (35 girls chosen to win the chance to be the bride of a Prince) didn’t really make me want to click ‘order’ straight away, the cover kept drawing me in. I like the crystal quality of the background, and how its blue instead of Princess! Pink!
Anyway, to the story itself. Basically it’s a fairytale, and I enjoyed it if I thought of it as a fun, girly read and nothing more. Also, the idea of all the girls living in the palace with him and his parents was kinda creepy, but if you got over that it was fine. Apparently its set in a dystopian world, but I didn’t see the dystopian evil-ness of it. That was one flaw – even the bad things felt too safe, although it got a little more tension towards the end.
Yes, it’s a love triangle. Aspen or Prince Maxon. Honestly, I didn’t like either, but if I had to pick it would be Maxon.
The synopsis says its a competition, but there was absolutely no competition at all. They were picked on their looks and abilities, then were eliminated if Maxon didn’t liked them or they did something wrong. The best advice they had was ‘be yourself’. So where’s the competition? But I did like how the girl’s were nice to each other, instead of the backstabbing cliches when there are lots of girls together.
The Selection was an enjoyable fairytale even if everything was obvious from the start. But isn’t that what makes it fun?
The sequel The Elite comes out 23 April.

Leave a Reply

