Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

 

Shatter Me
Tahereh Mafi

Basically, it’s about Juliette who has been locked up because her touch kills. Enter Adam. And so begins the dramatic action, romance story set in a dystopian world. To begin with, the strange metaphors and fancy way of saying things annoyed me but I got used to it and its get less and less throughout the book anyway. I found I couldn’t put it down and was zooming through chapters to find out what happened next. Juliette was a realistic character who – although annoyingly good at the beginning – starts to fight back.
A bad point however is that Warner – the villain – and Juliette’s conversations all tended to be exactly the same every time they met. There are also bits near the end which are so typical and you would have thought the author could have come up with different ideas.
I read Shatter Me for a second time recently and I realised.. nothing much happens! There is barely any story – although what there is is interesting – and the author has just dragged it on. I definitely didn’t like it as much.
I would like to read the sequel Unravel Me, but I haven’t even seen Shatter Me in the shops here in the UK (I picked up an ARC copy from a charity shop) so I don’t know if I’ll be able to.

Leave a Reply

