Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

 Mila 2.0
Debra Driza

Mila finds out she is an android, and has to hide from the people who made her.
I felt the first chapters could have been cut out completely – it was very typical high school petty girls, fighting over new guy, etc – which did nothing more than give me low expectations for the rest of the book. But when she finally leaves and the story properly starts things got more interesting, but not gripping. I can see where the comparisons to The Bourne films came from – although she’s on the run with her mother so that’s a bit different.
The entire thing felt very much like it was only skimming the surface; I never really connected with Mila (I got frustrated when she kept thinking she was a ‘freak’; she wasn’t human – I wanted her to be mentally stronger) and the story felt very small. As for the romance… it wasn’t well done. I didn’t like Hunter at all, he was plain dull, and the ending? She was hardly giving him a choice when he didn’t know what he was getting in to.
Saying all that, I did like the action, the main story, and the ending which was setting things up for what sounds like an interesting sequel.

Thank you Netgalley for allowing me to read it early!

Leave a Reply

