Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame


 Wentworth Hall
Abby Grahame

Secrets, scandal, eavesdropping servants, all the usual, set in 1912. This isn’t the kind of book I usually read but the cover drew me in – I like how it looks like a film or TV tie-in. Overall, Wentworth Hall was an okay, enjoyable enough book, and that’s all I was expecting from it. There were a lot of characters but I never got confused as it was very simply written. It bugged me in places as there was the constant use of different words instead of ‘said’, like ‘revealed’ and ‘suggested’ and lots more I can’t remember. If you don’t have to, don’t put in any variation of ‘said’ at all!
There are satirical stories being published about the family which are given in some chapters and they were dreadful – awfully written, like something me and my friends used to write when we were fifteen and trying to be silly. I know it was supposed to be in a different style, but it could have been a lot better.
There were twists, but I literally figured one out from the first chapter. I didn’t get the others even though I was looking for them, so that was good.
If you liked The Luxe series then this is for you, as it was a fun enough read. Just nothing amazing.

Leave a Reply

