Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

This was my second time reading Incarnate by Jodi Meadows and it wasn’t as good this time round. Ana is a nosoul – she’s only had one life while everyone around her has been reincarnated hundreds of times.

Her personality at the start felt really forced, and with Sam she was really childish in that he had to take care of her and be careful what he said. She does get better, though it happens quite suddenly. A lot of the scenes are similar and nothing new really seems to happen. The conversations seem a little strange in places, like they’re not matching up with what the other just said, but that might be because I have an ARC copy and it hasn’t been edited properly yet. It would be a lot to edit though.

I did love the reveal about Sam near the start, and to begin with the music angle was nice. But it soon grew old and too overdone.

I didn’t hate reading it, but it wasn’t all that fun either and I’m not that bothered in finding out what happens next in Asunder, which is out now.

P.S. There are really mixed opinions about the cover. My thoughts? Dreadful, hide it, and the covers of the next two are just as bad.

2 thoughts on “Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

  1. I agree with you about the covers. I am not a big fan. They are just weird. I liked the book but at times Ana really annoyed me. But ideally liked the concept and there were dragons which always makes things better.

Leave a Reply

