Review: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo was an entertaining read with adventure, wit, and action. The characters were explored further, the stakes got higher, there’s a battle on the horizon, but it still returned to familiar locations when I would have liked to see more of the world.

The first quarter was exploring new things – new places, characters – and I really enjoyed that. I liked the planning for a war later on, and how the author wasn’t afraid of ruining everything. But that last part (the action finale) made some of the book seem as though it wasn’t even needed.

One thing I have to mention is the Darkling and everyone’s fascination with him. I can’t understand why so many people love him when he is clearly the villain, and does some evil things in this book. I get that he is handsome and he was nice in the first half of the first book Shadow and Bone but I soon got over that when I learnt he was bad.

Anyway. I definitely enjoyed reading this fantasy, but its not as epic and grand as its made out to be. Just a nice, solid story, the sequel of which is called Ruin and Rising and probably will come out next year.

Leave a Reply

