Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2) by Laini Taylor was an enjoyable enough read but it wasn’t all that exciting, just like the first one I suppose.

I like that Karou is the main character because she has a skill other people don’t have – it’s not a coincidence these things are happening to her, or an accident, or being forced on her. I also liked Zuzanna and Mik’s relationship which was a bit of fun compared to the rest of the story.

However, the story itself felt like it wasn’t really going anywhere. The same things kept happening, and any shocking thing was the same kind of thing. It also felt flat. There was no rise in tension and I never felt any different between reading scenes when people were dying, and scenes when they were talking and having fun.

I’ll read the last in the trilogy Dreams of Gods and Monster because I may as well, but I’m not all that interested in the story and I don’t really care about the characters.

Leave a Reply

