Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Published: 10 December 2013

When a luxury spaceliner crashes on a strange planet the lone survivors – Lilac LaRoux, richest girl in the galaxy, and Tarver Merendsen, a war hero far beneath her notice – must put aside their differences to find a way off, in These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

This book was so much better than I expected, and I really really enjoyed it. At the beginning of each chapter there was a clip of an interrogation which I looked forward to as it was fun, and it was well done, linking everything up at the end. The story alternates between his and her perspectives and it works well, especially because I loved both the characters and really got into their heads and emotions. They are practically the only two people in the whole book, which is more a character based story.

That doesn’t mean there is no plot, because that was full of mystery and suspence and sometimes creepiness. There’s darker aspects and definite surprises. There’s a survival journey across the planet and although there were a few of the cliches, I honestly didn’t care.

The story felt like a standalone, but there are two more in the series, the next coming out in 2014. On Goodreads it says ‘Three worlds, three love stories, one enemy’ so I’m guessing we’ll meet new characters in the upcoming books. I can’t wait!

Thanks Netgalley for allowing me to read early!

2 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Three worlds, three love stories, one enemy? That sounds pretty fabulous! Count me in for this Sci-Fi YA series. So excited! 🙂 Between this and Avalon I’m pretty happy about what’s being published right now. I’m so glad this one exceeded your expectations and I can’t wait to read it once it’s published. Awesome review honey, thanks.

  2. To be honest I requested this book because of the pretty cover and I wasn’t expecting much, but it really did surprise me by being so enjoyable. I hope you enjoy it too, and thanks for the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

