Review: The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Pirate’s Wish (The Assassin’s Curse #2) by Cassandra Rose Clarke is the last in the duology and, unfortunately, is nowhere near as good as the first though there was nothing really wrong with it.

Ananna and Naji are bound together by a curse which they set out to break by completing three ‘impossible’ tasks. Originally this series was one book and it got cut in half, so everything fitted nicely together and old characters returned. But it all felt way too easy for the main characters – they didn’t find the aspects of the tasks themselves but stumbled across them.

While the first book stuck with kind of ‘realistic’ magic, this second book incorporated manticores (which I didn’t see the point of at all) and talking sharks and octopusses. And I don’t like that sort of thing in books, which therefore ruined the series for me.

Overall this was a very disappointing read after how much I liked The Assassins’s Curse. It was written perfectly well, there was no dips, the characters perhaps weren’t as likeable as the first but were still fine, and there was adventure (though not as fun as the first). But the fantasy creatures felt more middle-grade and were a large part of the story. If you like that kind of thing, I’m sure you’ll like this, but sadly I didn’t.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

  1. Bad news for me. I’d heard such awesome things about the first book that I figured this was another series I could look forward to. But, like you, I believe talking sharks do not a realistic story make… 😦

    • The first in the series is still worth a read as I really liked it, but yes, the sequel wasn’t great. Perhaps I can forget that one ever happened and come up with my own ending… 🙂 Not that it wasn’t a happy ending, just boring.

Leave a Reply

